

# **COUNCIL MEETING – 13 JULY 2023**

## **COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS REPORT**

## **MEMBER APPOINTMENTS:**

## 1 EMPLOYMENT AND APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

- 1.1 The following appointments are to reappoint the existing members of Personnel Sub-Committee to the replacement Employment and Appointments Committee consequent to the amendments to the Council's Constitution.
- 1.2 To appoint the following members to the Employment and Appointments Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed:

## **Committee Members:**

Councillor Anjna Khurana (Chair) Councillor Janet Burgess MBE
Councillor Kaya Comer-Schwartz Councillor Satnam Gill OBE
Councillor Diarmaid Ward

#### **Substitutes:**

Councillor Jenny Kay
Councillor Dave Poyser
Councillor Jilani Chowdhury
Councillor Santiago Bell-Bradford
Councillor Roulin Khondoker
Councillor Una O'Halloran
Councillor John Woolf
Councillor Dave Poyser
Councillor Jason Jackson
Councillor Rowena Champion
Councillor Michelline Safi Ngongo
Councillor Nurullah Turan

## **RECOMMENDATIONS:**

- 1.1 That Councillors Khurana, Burgess, Comer-Schwartz, Gill and Ward be appointed as members of the Employment and Appointments Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed, be agreed.
- 1.2 That Councillor Khurana be appointed as Chair of the Employment and Appointments Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed, be agreed.

1.3 That Councillors Kay, Poyser, Chowdhury, Jackson, Bell-Bradford, Champion, Khondoker, Ngongo, O'Halloran, Turan and Woolf be appointed as Substitute members of the Employment and Appointments Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed, be agreed.

## 2 PENSIONS COMMITTEE

- 2.1 The following appointments are to reappoint the existing members of Pensions Sub-Committee to the replacement Pensions Committee consequent to the amendments to the Council's Constitution, with the exception of the appointment of Cllr Mackmurdie as a substitute, which is a new appointment.
- 2.2 To appoint the following members to the Pensions Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed:

#### **Committee Members:**

Councillor Paul Convery (Chair) Councillor Satnam Gill OBE Councillor Diarmaid Ward (Vice-Chair) Councillor Michael O'Sullivan

#### Substitutes:

Councillor Jenny Kay Councillor Ben Mackmurdie

#### **RECOMMENDATIONS:**

- 2.1 That Councillors Convery, Ward, Gill and O'Sullivan be appointed as members of the Pensions Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed, be agreed.
- 2.2 That Councillor Convery be appointed as Chair and Councillor Ward be appointed as Vice Chair of the Pensions Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed, be agreed.
- 2.1 That Councillors Kay and Mackmurdie be appointed as Substitute members of the Pensions Committee, with immediate effect, until Annual Council on 16 May 2024 or until a successor is appointed, be agreed.

#### OFFICER APPOINTMENTS:

## 3. APPOINTMENT OF HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

- 3.1. To note that Linzi Roberts-Egan, Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service, will officially leave the council on 30 July 2023, and is taking leave from 15 July onwards.
- 3.2. To note that Stephen Biggs, Corporate Director Community Wealth Building, will be deputising for the Chief Executive from 15 30 July.
- To appoint Stephen Biggs, Corporate Director Community Wealth Building, as Acting Head of Paid Service, with effect from 31 July 2023 until further notice.
- 3.4. To note that the substantive post of Corporate Director Community Wealth Building, is being covered through the following acting up arrangements with effect from 4 July 2023 until further notice.

Caroline Wilson, Director of Inclusive Economy and Jobs will lead on : Community Financial Resilience

Corporate Landlord: Facilities Management, Corporate Asset Management, non-residential Capital Delivery and Futureworks Corporate Procurement and Supply

Inclusive Economy and Jobs

Karen Sullivan, Director of Planning and Development will lead on: Climate Change and Transport New Homes Programme and PMO Planning and Development Corporate Health & Safety

### **RECOMMENDATIONS:**

- That that Linzi Roberts-Egan, Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service, is
  officially leaving the council on 30 July 2023, and is taking leave from 15 July
  onwards be noted.
- 3.6. That Stephen Biggs, Corporate Director Community Wealth Building, will be deputising for the Chief Executive from 15 30 July be noted.
- 3.7. That Stephen Biggs be appointed as Acting Head of Paid Service with effect from 31 July 2023, until further notice, be agreed.
- 3.8. That the acting up arrangements to cover the role of Corporate Director Community Wealth Building from 4 July until further notice, be noted.

# 4. APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR OF LAW AND GOVERNANCE / MONITORING OFFICER

- 4.1. To appoint Alison Stuart as the Council's Director of Law and Governance / Monitoring Officer, following a selection process led by Personnel Sub-Committee.
- 4.2. To note that, subject to the above, Alison is expected to start in post in October 2023.

## **RECOMMENDATION:**

4.3. To appoint Alison Stuart as the Council's Director of Law and Governance and Monitoring Officer, with effect from her contractual start date.

# Updated report authorised by:

Marie Rosenthal Interim Director of Law and Governance & Monitoring Officer 11 July 2023